MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co

❰Ebook❯ ➠ Rivers Author Michael Farris Smith – 12th-century.co For fans of Cormac McCarthy and Annie Proulx “a wonderfully cinematic story” The Washington Post set in the post Katrina South after violent storms have decimated the region It had been raining foFor fans of Cormac McCarthy and Annie Proulx “a wonderfully cinematic story” The Washington Post set in the post Katrina South after violent storms have decimated the region It had been raining for weeks Maybe months He had forgotten the last day that it hadn’t rained when the storms gave way to the pale blue of the Gulf sky when the birds flew and the clouds were white and sunshine glistened across the drenched land The Gulf Coast has been brought to its knees Years of catastrophic hurricanes have so punished and depleted the region that the government has d.

Rawn a new boundary ninety miles north of the coastline Life below the Line offers no services no electricity and no resources and those who stay behind live by their own rules—including Cohen whose wife and unborn child were killed during an evacuation attempt He buried them on family land and never leftBut after he is ambushed and his home is ransacked Cohen is forced to flee On the road north he is captured by Aggie a fanatical snake handling preacher who has a colony of captives and dangerous visions of repopulating the barren region Now Cohen is faced with a.

rivers mobile Rivers ePUBRawn a new boundary ninety miles north of the coastline Life below the Line offers no services no electricity and no resources and those who stay behind live by their own rules—including Cohen whose wife and unborn child were killed during an evacuation attempt He buried them on family land and never leftBut after he is ambushed and his home is ransacked Cohen is forced to flee On the road north he is captured by Aggie a fanatical snake handling preacher who has a colony of captives and dangerous visions of repopulating the barren region Now Cohen is faced with a.

MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co

MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co Michael Farris Smith is the author of Blackwood 2020 The Fighter Desperation Road Rivers and The Hands of Strangers His novels have appeared on Best of the Year lists with Esuire Southern Living Book Riot and numerous others and have been named Indie Next Barnes & Noble Discover and Best of the Month selections His essays have appeared with The New York Times Bitter Southern

10 thoughts on “Rivers

  1. PirateSteve PirateSteve says:

    MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co rivers mobile, Rivers ePUBAs I went down to the rivers to prayStudying about them good old daysAnd who shall wear the starry crownGood Lord show me the wayO fathers let's go downLet's go down come on downO fathers let's go downDown to the rivers to pray What if Rivers not there Taken away like everything else that mattered to you Your memories remain mostly sweet goodMemories and your flooded homeland with the promise of rain and hurricanesPray anyway I say he is not dead he is risen


  2. Elyse Walters Elyse Walters says:

    MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co rivers mobile, Rivers ePUBYikes almighty frickin hellIt's been a long time since I've read a pulse pounding novelIt had been raining for weeks Maybe months He had forgotten the last day that it had rained when the storms gave way to the pale blue of the Gulf sky when the birds flew and the clouds were white and the sunshine glistened across the drenched landThe catastrophe from the hurrica


  3. Carol Carol says:

    MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co rivers mobile, Rivers ePUB45 Stars After reading the preuel IN THE BEGINNING I knew this would be my kind of read with the fury of catastrophic weather a nearly abandoned land and a vile preaching predator in the midstRIVERS is a story of survival Warning after warning of a destructive band of hurricanes on the way and repeated offers to purchase his property Cohen refuses to leave his Mississippi home Even after a close encounter with death instead of escape he seeks revenge unaware of the evil he is up againstRIVERS is also a story of lost love and bittersweet memories of what could have beenDesperation fear panic and loneliness with no one to trust comb


  4. Susanne Strong Susanne Strong says:

    MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co rivers mobile, Rivers ePUBBrilliant Descriptive Devastating Haunting Cohen is a man who has lost almost everything and who is desperately trying to hold on to the only thing he has left His home Yet the weather has other ideas The torrential rains come down day after day after day Sunshine is something seen rarely in these parts Yet Cohen refuses to leave Most have left for “the Line” as the Gulf Coast has been decimated and life is a shell of what it once was There is no electricity food or rescue Everyone who remains is left to fend for themselves Cohen has always stayed above the fray The same can’t be said for the others Those whose actions beget desperation and violence Survival however is the only answer It’s not just about Cohen however this time others are relying on him and this time he isn’t going to fail them A gritty novel about the choices we make family loss love and surv


  5. Karen Karen says:

    MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co rivers mobile, Rivers ePUBThis was the first novel by Michael Farris Smith and I love this man's writing I felt like I was right in the middle of the Gulf Coast where the rain and storms never stopped causing the government to draw a line where people who live below the line get no help it's a no man's land people who stay have to fend for themselves Cohen who is grieving the loss of his wife and unborn child chooses to stay and this is the story of what he faces and what a journey it is Very intense and addictive read I'm so happy I read Desperation Road which led me to this first novel I did like Desperation Road a bit but this deserves 5 stars as well I will be keeping my eyes on this author


  6. LeAnne: GeezerMom LeAnne: GeezerMom says:

    MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co rivers mobile, Rivers ePUBWildly here we are again with me updating this A year ago we had a trifecta of hurricanes start out with Harvey in Texas threatening to bust dams open Now satellite images show three hurricanes in the Atlantic and a tropical storm in the Gulf This tense and beautiful work of suspense is the PERFECT read for those of us not storm prepping Crazy HOW MANY OF YOU ARE WATCHING HURRICANE HARVEY COVERAGE AND THINKING ABOUT THIS BOOK?? Prayers for Texas 💔 Original reviewOMG good Call me nuts but I've read this novel twice in less than a year just finished a second book club discussion on it and participated in two author As with Mississippi writer Michael Farris Smith Seriously the book is that goodI confess that the publisher's blurb didn't grab me when I saw it last year


  7. Annet Annet says:

    MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co rivers mobile, Rivers ePUBWell what a story Rather grim and dark literally Dystopian is one of the categories that interest me Who says this can't happen weather changing relentless rain and water taking the landsit feels sort of realistic in a way I live in The Netherlands the low lands below sea lev


  8. Diane S ☔ Diane S ☔ says:

    MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co rivers mobile, Rivers ePUBWe have finally damaged the earth so much that the coastal regions are being struck by unending storms and hurricanes even the Mississippi valley has become a permanent flood zone A line is drawn the line delineating where services and protection will be offered all other area and people who choose to stay in them are on there on Of course man kind being what it is these areas become a violent no man's landThe tone is similar in nature to The Road but this is much expansive than that book was and has many characters that have banded together due to various circumstances Parts of it also reminded me of The Sta


  9. Cheri Cheri says:

    MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co rivers mobile, Rivers ePUB45 StarsThere must be some kind of way outta here Said the joker to the thief There's too much confusion I can't get no relief All Along the Watchtower Bob Dylan ”It had been raining for weeks Maybe months He had forgotten the last day that it hadn’t rained when the storms gave way to the pale blue of the Gulf sky when the birds flew and the clouds were white and the sunshine glistened across the drenched land”Cohen looked around his dog beside him staring at the lumber that sat soaked and thought about starting yet again on re framing that room those walls that he’d built over and over only to have th


  10. Cathrine ☯️ Cathrine ☯️ says:

    MOBI Rivers eBook · à 12th century.co rivers mobile, Rivers ePUB44★I was so impressed with the writing in Desperation Road that I rushed to read this and its precursor In the beginning A short story preuel to the novel Rivers without any story or review prepPost Apocalypse is not my reading preference as I feel it's too oppressive wreaking devastation page after page with not much hope or satisfaction on the horizon because that’s the issue with any sort of apocalypse right? Nonetheless it was uite compelling timely and believable Years of catastrophic hurricanes have brought the Gulf Coast states to total anarchy and ruin; circumstances and souls will get worse before there is an


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *